The parties to the hearing were:

1. The Applicant, the Department of Energy and the Westinghouse Electric Company's Waste Isolation Division, represented by Kenneth T. Kristl and Jennifer T. Nijman of Winston & Strawn, a Chicago law firm; Pamela L. Matthews, Santa Fe local counsel; Cooper H. Wayman, DOE, Carlsbad, NM; and Gloria J. Barnes, Westinghouse Electric Company, Carlsbad, NM.

2. The Regulator, the New Mexico Environment Department (NMED), represented by Susan McMichael, Lead Counsel, John McKay, and Eric Ames, Santa Fe, NM.

3. The New Mexico Office of the Attorney General, represented by Glenn R. Smith and Geoffrey Fettus, Assistant Attorney Generals, Santa Fe, NM.

4. The Environmental Evaluation Group (EEG), Albuquerque, NM, representing itself.

5. Southwest Research and Information Center (SRIC), Albuquerque, NM, represented by Kevin Ward of Harding, Shultz & Downs, Denver, CO and Don Hancock of SRIC.

6. Concerned Citizens for Nuclear Safety (CCNS), Santa Fe, NM, represented by Kevin Ward of Harding, Shultz & Downs, Denver, CO.

7. Citizens for Alternatives to Radioactive Dumping (CARD), Albuquerque, NM, represented by Richard Hayes Phillips, Albuquerque, NM, and Deborah Reade, Santa Fe, NM.

8. NFT, Incorporated ("NFT"), Lakewood, CO, represented by Gilbert W. Brassell, Lakewood, CO.

9. Tod N. Rockefeller, Carlsbad, NM, represented himself.

10. Savannah River Site Citizens Advisory Board ("SRS"), Augusta, GA, represented by W. F. Lawless, Co- Chair, Environmental Remediation & Waste Management Subcommittee, Augusta, GA.

11. Norbert T. Rempe, Carlsbad, NM, represented himself.

12. Bonnie Bonneau, El Prado, NM, represented herself.

Back to Summaries